Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got done replacing valves after a timing belt broke on me on my way to work a couple weeks again. Got everything put back together now and runs great. Just a quick question which might be a stupid question but is it normal to see the lines in these types of timing belts after a new one is installed? Did I do something wrong installing it? Any help will be awesome. Thanks

Attachments

·
Registered
16,036 Posts
Tooth rocking to dust some of the color off the belt............perfectly normal. Or flat tensioner rubbing in more dirt at the firmest part of belt, again, normal.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks I was just worried a little bit about it. I’ve never used a colored belt before and it was the best I could find since the last person put the cheapest one in it that broke at only 20000 miles. Thanks so
Much.

·
Registered
149 Posts

·
Thats What She Said
10,704 Posts
Is it just me or does the gears not look right? They look offset and the intake cam gear looks like it worn the teeth down becuase it looks like the teeth are taller at the block side.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I have no clue. All I know is when I bought the car that’s what they looked like. If it not normal than idk what I should do. I need my car to drive to work. If this isn’t good then I reallly don’t know what to do? And idk why the teeth on the intake sprocket are like that. They were like that when I bought the car 2 years ago.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I just went and looked at the intake gear and it appears to be made that way sonidk. But stupid me the exhaust gear is on backwards. I’ll have to get it back to tdc and put the timing tools in to get it switched back around the right way. Glad I haven’t drove it anywhere yet. Can’t believe I didn’t notice this. Oh well. I’ll get it corrected and be ready to go

·
Thats What She Said