Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, after a long time creeping around I'm finally in the good with myself to post openly. I'd like to say first off to everyone that came to the Fest back in August, you made work worth being at all night. I'm a shift manager at the McDonald's off of I-64 in Morehead, so naturally I creeped all evening.[dunno]

That said, I recently came into possession of a red 2002 SVT. 132k on the clock and the guy wanted 4100 on the road. Everything was gravy during the test drive, and any small issues aside, that was a great price in my opinion for the condition it's in. Plus the red matches my G8, soooo.... [grinking]

A few week into ownership, I've started to get time to thoroughly go over the car top to bottom to make sure that I'll be driving it for years to come. Small things like end-links needing to be replaced, a ball joint and bearing making some minor noise, and valve cover gasket sets are really all the issues I've seen that need to be addressed.

Going from that there are two issues that still have me puzzled. First is the matter is that the shifter action is loud. I know it's meant to be notchy, and I don't mind the feel, it's just how audible it is makes me wonder if there's something not quite right. It looks like the bushing in my counterweight may be toast, but I haven't had the chance to get into it and pull it apart to double check. Any input here would be greatly appreciated as I feel like I'm kinda just over-thinking the whole thing.