Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! A fellow Focus driver told me about this forum so I decided to check it out! I'm a college student in Indiana and I drive a 2003 Red SVT! I got her about a year ago and she had 112k miles when I got her! I wasn't a fan because I've never driven a manual but I love her now! She also has an after market radio system and an 8" sub in the back!

Can't wait to learn more about my Focus and discuss in the forums :)

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
Welcome to FF!

Looks like it's in nice shape.

You lucked into a nice sports coupe that is quite desirable & can last a long time with regular maint.

I'll throw out the obligatory warning on the Timing Belt. If you don't have records of when it was replaced it is an essential to get that done. Over 100,000 without replacement it can go at any time & that does major damage to the engine (bent valves), an avoidable problem that makes many SVT's parts cars when owners can't afford the repair.

SVT's are great fun to drive in the stock configuration, and many Focus owners acquire parts meant for them to upgrade the lesser models to that spec..

Enjoy!

HaHa - I see Pasta beat me to it while I was typing...

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
No way to be sure when it was done unless marked in books/receipts/under the hood.

Pulling a cover to see how it looks is better than nothing, but unless it's REAL fresh you can't tell the difference between replaced a while ago or never done unless it looks trashed.

Buying at 112,000 there's a REAL good chance it was sold before doing it to avoid the maint. expense.

·
Registered
472 Posts
Nice pick up! SVTs are quirky, little cars that have their own uniqueness of their own… I enjoy mine greatly! Be sure to check into the forums here for any issues or any woes that may come up… these can be finicky cars as well, but with proper maintenance they can last you for years to come!