Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello fine folks of Focus Fanatics

I am new to the membership, having recently acquired a 2013 Focus Hatchback.

I did not start out with the goal of purchasing the Focus, but rather was hunting the VW GTI.

However, the cost of the GTI was somewhat offputting, and the thought of being tethered to premium gas again was a also a bit disheartening.

I'm a soccer dad, and wanted something that put together safe, fun, good handling, and a fair bit of usable space in a package that was economical to own. The Focus was the choice that seemed to tick all of the boxes.

As an owner for about 5 days, all I can say is that I am very impressed with the vehicle. The fun factor is definitely there, perhaps a little down on power but a fair trade for the fuel economy and regular gas. My kids fit in fine, and I will be confident when I turn the car over to my first driver - when she gets there.

If I was able to get a manual trans I would've been completely happy - but, alas, wifey was not down with the row-ur-own sickness.

I am hopeful that the long term durability of the hatch will prove up to the task.....but at this point, I am very confident going in.

Cheers!!

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
Hey Joe, the GTI is a sexy beast for sure, and I think it fair to say that there is a trace of German engineering in the feel of the Focus.

I noted your comment that the car could use more power. My '14 Ti DCT has the Injected Engineering tune, (Injected is a sponsor on this site, and is local to me--Kennesaw, GA) and I happen to be running the program for 93 Octane, the one that gives the best performance. (The tuner has 3"programs" 87,91 and 93 Octane and Stock ).