Focus Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 20 of 114 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
cayying over the thread from the old boards. Read alot about bad mileage but got 35.5 mpg on my first tank.

·
Registered
1,236 Posts
Data points: ZX3 PZEV 5-speed, first tank was 27.4 mpg and second was 28.6 mpg. I am not taking it real easy during break-in, just staying between 2K and 4K rpm. My daily commute is about 50 miles round-trip on a combination of city stop-n-go, quiet secondary roads, and some Interstate. Minimal A/C usage. From what I've seen so far, you'd have to drive this thing like the Dukes of Hazzard to drop into the low 20's. Or sit around forever in stop-n-go traffic. Fuel economy depends enormously on where you live and how you drive. Where I live isn't flat like Kansas nor is it mountainous like Colorado, but it is hilly. And I am a smooth driver but definitely not pokey.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
fwiw my commute is 35 miles each way 34 of which is a no traffic highway. steady 65 mph never ever ever use air (heat and humidity lover)

·
Sückn' n Blown
7,747 Posts
I'm getting around 30-32 combined. It varies on my driving characteristics Regular driving, about 32mpg. Back roads fun and autox, then it drops to 28-29.

But most of my driving is highway.

·
Registered
405 Posts
had the car since july 20th, it reads 8900 miles now. I get about 26-29 mpg, depending on a/c, traffic, heavy foot. I can pretty much control how much I get per gallon by the way I drive and how I use the a/c more conservativley. The worst I have gotten so far was in the 25-26 range.

·
Registered
894 Posts
I leave for work early. No traffic on the way, no a/c. usually catch 2-4 stoplights. On the way home its stop and go traffic, a/c on, 30 miles round trip. If Im really careful I get 27.7 mpg. If I drive like the devil is close behind I get 25 mpg. I fill up about every 11-12 days.