Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just got my 09 focus about 3 months ago. When I was shopping I realized I actually didn't like Ford's interior lighting kit so I didn't buy it and now I want to install my own. I've never done something like this before so I'm kinda new to the whole lighting realm.

This is what I had in mind:
-Lights for front floors (red)
-Lights for back floors (blue)
-Lights for air vents (red)

I want to install all of these onto the same switch and I don't want them to be a part of my headlights. I was thinking about tapping into one of my 12v plugs to power all of these and adding a switch where the Ford lighting kit button would be.

Now some of the dilemmas I'm having are:
What type to buy for these different location?
Where is the best place to install these types of lights?
How do I wire these into my car? (both floor and vent lights)

I'm open for any suggestions. I really want to do this but I feel like I'm really in the dark at this point. Thanks for any help you can offer.

·
Registered
774 Posts
Okay man, just want to say first off that a lot of us have done is knd of thing on here and ideas will vary. I personally do not like indivual LEDs - that is what you would need to use for the vents to get the right effect. I think they are a hassle to wire in because of the small size and the fact that you have to use a resistor to drop the votage, other wise you will see them blow-out fast. happened to me several times before I got smart.

I have consistently piggy-backed wires into unused or under-used fuses. I have used the window front and rear fuses the most and that has always worked without fail or flaw. Some people wll say that is a bad way to do it. I think it is the easy and there is nothing wrong with it.

Whatever you do, save yourself and use a fuse that will shut off when the car shuts off.