Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
403 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im kinda new to doing stuff to me car and i was just wondering what the first things people do to their engines?

it would be great if you could tell me what you did first

i drive a 2000 se sedan

thanks

·
Registered
156 Posts
When I started learning mechanics. I started servicing my car, things like changing the oil, the oil filter, the fuel filter, the air filter, the pcv valve...

Then I had a bunch of overheating problems and I learnt things like changing the thermostat, changing the fan switches, checking relays, cleaning the radiator, flushing the system...

Then I learnt engines. Now they seem easy, but not in the beginning. I had to read and try a lot of stuff. I learnt how to change puleys, pumps, belts, tensioners, idlers, head gastkets, piston rings...

Then I learnt manual transmission stuff, I am from Spain and almost all the cars are manual there. I learnt clutch replacing, joints replacing...

In the meanwhile, I learnt a lot more stuff, like brakes functioning, A/C systems, suspension, power steering, electric stuff, ABS...

I have a lot of things to learn in these fields yet, but I have a good grasp of how a car works. It took years and a lot of effort and getting dirty. I would say one of the most difficult things to learn is how to troubleshoot a car problem, you need a lot of experience and understanding for this.

I am also interested on how everybody learnt stuff. I read an Spanish book that is not translated to English called "Manual de Automóviles de Arias Paz", I read a lot on the Internet, I asked a lot of dumb questions in forums...

I guess a lot of people here learn from their parents or other friends, I didn't have that opportunity. I would say one of the most important things is not being afraid of breaking things and if you break them fixing them will teach more things.