Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up an '01 zx3 2.0L with 100k on it. Its unusually clean for its age. Anyway, my thought was to build this as a reliable, but fun daily driver (no turbo). I'm relatively new to focus, so I am looking for any ideas on how to build this motor to put out 275whp or more (if that is even possible w/o turbo). I am open to any and all thoughts. Also, how does the drivetrain hold up on zx3? Am I looking at a complete rebuild of tranny too?

·
Super Moderator
8,950 Posts
Not possible NA on these cars. Highest seen and recorded was 174whp.

With a turbo an easy way before you have to mess with drive train is roughly 210whp. An upgraded clutch is wanted for more power

Best NA bang per buck is svt header swap and full exhaust with a tune. After that tb is nice and a drop in k&n

Sent from my ASUS_Z00AD using Tapatalk

·
Lurking...
2,180 Posts
Didn't mention tyranny type. MTX-75 will only need a new clutch up to about 250-300hp at that point you'll probably want/need a LSD. From there you'll be good to over 500hp. With an auto tranny I wouldn't go past 180hp without a Lantec Auto Tranny. Like Slow_Solo said you are not reaching 200 w/o boost. I suggest turbo. Few places to buy kits from. User 1turbofocus on this site sells a kit as well as FSWerks. Just don't buy an ebay kit and throw it on.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What about compression? Mechanically, would it be better to run a higher compression, say 11.1 with turbo? I'm thinking of getting to that point and then considering boost.

·
Super Moderator
8,950 Posts
this is the highest zetec na output.

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/zetec-performance-2000-2004/303290-so-whats-done-iminhells-engine.html

dyno is the last post http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/zetec-performance-2000-2004/101161-*-official-zetec-dyno-thread*-2.html