Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 200 Posts

·
Registered
802 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Decided to do a quick write up on how to reaplce your rear motor mount in a n/a mk3. Bare with me as im not one for words, give me a break im a motorcycle mechanic, so this thread uses a lot of pictures.

To get started you are going to need a T30 torx bit, 13/15mm wrenches or sockets, a lift or car ramps, and about 45 mins. Optional is a engine stand to help align bolt holes during installation. You dont have to have one but it sure helped!

1st off remove the slash gaurd/ engine cover from below the car. This is held in with about 8 torx screws......

After the cover is removed then you can start by removing the bracket that holds to mount to the motor and the bolt that holds the mount to the frame.

Once those bolts are removed you can then remove the bracket, once thats gone you can remove the old mount.

With those two items removed you can now slide your new rear motor mount into place where the old one once was. You need to do this BEFORE reattaching the bracket. (Also I used a Cobb RMM, and it came with a replacment bolt to attach the mount to the bracket. This isnt the case for everyone)

In order for you to get the holes to line up to reattach the bracket to the mount you simply just need a little force in whatever direction the hole is off by. I used a spiral motor jack so it made it really easy.

Once all your bolts are back in and torqued down take a good look at your mount.......... sadly this is the only time youll get to see it! Reattach the splash gaurd/engine cover with the T30 torx screws and your good to go! Hope this was helpful to anyone needing guidance. If i missed something please let me know!

·
Registered
541 Posts
Good job ShoOff! I can't wait to have a little fun on the way to FF13. I'm thinking about a tuner but not sure at the moment.

·
Registered
439 Posts