Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 2003 focus SE got a little wet the other day and shorted a few things out. It was parked on the street and we had a bad rain and the storm sewer backed up. I had like 6 inches of water in my floor boards.

The car still runs and drives fine. After drying it out I have a check engine light and srs light. I am a mechanic and have a genisys scanner. Found the check engine light is a secondary fuel pump circuit malfunction, pump is running all the time when the key is on.

Next I checked the srs module, can't read it, possibly dead? Will it fry if it gets wet, or do I have a short somewhere else? Can I swap the module out for a new one or will the dealer have to [:)][:)][:)][:)] me on programing it, since I do not have ford specialized equipment?

·
Registered
87 Posts
Sorry to hear about this,

On the fuel pump problem, it sounds like your fuel pump relay is sticking. This is the only time I have ever seen that DTC. Maybe the relay got wet and is stuck on.

On the SIR problem. You can replace the module. I have never had to program the modules I have replaced in the Foci's. The last one I replaced was over a year ago so it's possible something has changed since then.

Make sure you pull your entire interior out, inc. the carpet and let the carpet dry. If you don't, you are going to end up with a ton of problems in the future. All of the splices inside the car are not sealed.

·
Registered
3,487 Posts
You could be in for a bad time with this problem. "Flood cars" as we call them around here are often totaled, even though they might look ok. The electrical problems you are now having are likely to get worse, even after drying everything out.

The ones I've worked on, end up having all sorts of strange, never before seen, almost un-fixable problems. And they don't need to go completely under water.....your 6" of water over the floor-boards is plenty.