Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New guy here, thought I'd say hi. I'm new to the Focus world, but definitely not new to modding cars and forums. I started out with motorcycles, then old junkers, then a jeep, now I'm on to a little hoopty called a Focus ZX3, lol.

This all started out a couple months ago when I was watching Xtreme Offroad one morning, the one where Ian was building a budget rally car out of an old ZX3. I had always liked these little cars, so I started checking out Craigslist, just to see what was out there. I saw an ad for a 2000 ZX3, with no pictures, not much of a description or anything so I shot the guy an email. He replied stating that it was a fixer upper, had been in an accident, both airbags had been deployed and the water pump was leaking. I almost walked away but asked him to send me a couple of pictures anyways. Here's what he sent:

So I think it's not too bad and set up a time to go check it out. First thing I notice is that there is absolutely zero damage to the front end (he stated he rear ended a car). I found out a little later that these things are known to deploying airbags easily - not sure if that's true or not, but seems legit.

Next thing I notice is that the water pump is not leaking at all - it's the thermostat housing. 5 minutes of research tells me that it's probably the most common problem with these cars. Again, no big deal.