Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Panamasian
2,590 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
need opinions and have questions.

1. would you buy used springs (like 70k miles)

2. Do springs matter when it comes to fitting on a strut? (like could a spring that has been on an 00-05 strut fit on an 06-11 strut)

That's all for now. I'm still learning my focus suspension. thanks!

·
Da fofo love remains
1,538 Posts

2. Do springs matter when it comes to fitting on a strut? (like could a spring that has been on an 00-05 strut fit on an 06-11 strut)

1. depends on price...70k leaves a short life span to work with IMHO. What brand matters too.

2. No, I do believe they are different. Could be wrong though. Mines a 2005. Can always ask the tire rack guy. He will tell you for sure if another member doesn't confirm before that. Just PM him.

·
Registered
177 Posts
1. Doesn't matter as long as they're not charging you a price near the original cost of new springs. Springs are one of those things that can usually outlast the life of the engine, so it doesn't really matter if they are used or not. Just be sure to check for cracks in the springs.

2. In order to use a spring meant for 00-05 on an 06-11 you will need to get the omni kit from massive. The rear springs and shocks were the same from 00-11, however it's the fronts that changed after 05' which is why you need the omni kit (the base of the strut is wider as well as the hole in the top of the steering knuckle).

·
Panamasian
2,590 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
1. Doesn't matter as long as they're not charging you a price near the original cost of new springs. Springs are one of those things that can usually outlast the life of the engine, so it doesn't really matter if they are used or not. Just be sure to check for cracks in the springs.