Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I've been coming here for several years but never needed to post until now, this site is awsome. I just couldn't find the answer to my question. M'kay, I have an 03 with the MTX, It's my first car and I've had it for a little over 4 years. For the past year or so my trans seems to have been really getting sloppy. I'm well aware that they are noisy, and that really doesn't bug me, BUT, there seems to be a large amunt of slack/backlash that is being taken up when I begin to release the clutch after up-shifting or taking off. There is a light thud that can be both heard and felt in the car with normal driving, 2200-3000 rpm slow shifts. With the windows down, there is a distinct metallic "clak" to go along with it. thinking back, I really can't remember the car doing this when I first got it, but maybe it did and now i just really notice it? Is this an issue or normal? It dose have about 143k on it.

·
Registered
2,193 Posts
Motor mounts. Usual culprit is the lower torque (dog bone) mount. In my case it was the passenger side. I checked it 3 times. Wasnt until I took it out, that It fell apart in 2 pieces. Thats the usual clunks. But also check your front sway bar end links, they will also make a clunking noise. Could be a few other things, but that would be a good place to start...

·
Registered
3,368 Posts
Ditto the dog bone. Stuff wears out. you have to be somewhat alert (as your are) and get this stuff replaced as part of your maintenance regime.

·
Registered
262 Posts
the matallic clak you speak of....is it more of a grind sound?

the grind is my MTX. the syncros are bad on 3rd, going bad on 4th so i have to match RPM to shift w/o grinding. so thats internal transmission. MTX trans's dont like speedshifters like i once was before i knew it messed them up(i was 17, and dumb, forgive me).