Focus Fanatics Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 103 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'm new to the focus world. I just got a 2014 focus se 6 sp auto winter package I'm only at 2100 miles. I got gas today and the only non ethanol fuel available was 91 unleaded I decided to fill it with that. Will 91 harm my engine in anyway? Will the engine burn it correctly. Any advice would be helpful! Thanks

·
Registered
307 Posts
The only harm 91 (93 ?) will do is to your pocketbook <flame suit on>

·
Focus Addict
14,132 Posts

An excerpt from the 2012 Ford Focus owners guide.

Premium fuel will provide improved performance
The only reason this car can even run 87 octane is due to the gasoline direct injection combined with variable camshaft timing that can pull timing to avoid spark knock on a 12:1 compression engine running on the volatile 87 octane that is more easily pre-ignited.

·
__________/\__
2,183 Posts
Hey guys I'm new to the focus world. I just got a 2014 focus se 6 sp auto winter package I'm only at 2100 miles. I got gas today and the only non ethanol fuel available was 91 unleaded I decided to fill it with that. Will 91 harm my engine in anyway? Will the engine burn it correctly. Any advice would be helpful! Thanks
You are lucky that you can buy gas that is ethanol free. It is totally unavailable in the DFW area unless you source it from a specialty supplier or perhaps a marina.

If you can afford it, run 93 octane and preferably run a top tier fuel.

Here's why:
http://www.toptiergas.com/

Retailers that sell top tier gas
76 Stations
Aloha
Arco
BP
Chevron
Conoco
Costco Wholesale
CountryMark
Entec Stations
Express Convenience Centers
Exxon
Hawaii Fueling Network (HFN)
Holiday Stationstores
Kwik Trip / Kwik Star
MFA Oil Co.
Mobil
Ohana Fuels
Phillips 66
Quik Trip
Road Ranger
Scheirl Oil
Shell
SuperAmerica
Texaco
Tri-Par Oil Co.

·
Registered
52 Posts