Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i heard that you can't change the size of your rims or tires on the fsvt or it will mess up the suspension. is this true.....[???:)]

·
Registered
2,058 Posts
Im not an expert on the subject but it sounds like total BS to me just look around and alot of the SVT's have there rims and/or tires changed out

·
Registered
1,508 Posts
There are several things that you can mess up with bigger tires and rims. First with a taller or wider rim, you have to worry about the kingpin offset. Kingpin inclination is the the line that ball joints on the end of your control arms make when you draw a straight line through them. If you extend that imaginary line to ground level, then measure the distance to the centerline of the tire, that is the kingpin offset. For ideal performance this value should be zero. If you go with a taller tire, you can make the line go outside the centerline of the tire, causing a tendency to understeer, inside the centerline causes the tendency to oversteer. This also affects the scrub radius of the car. If the scrub radius and ackerman turning circle don't line up, your tires will squeel in the corners (reduction of the max 1g lateral friction threshhold).

Changing to higher spring rate tires also affects the ride and response times. Since the wheel and suspension spring are in series, the higher spring rate of the suspension spring dictates system performance more, but the tires also contribute.

If you go with big rims it also changes the height of the roll center (the imaginery line about which the car rotates in a corner). If you drop the car to accomodate for the change in ride height, the geometry of the suspension linkages is altered, is it now set in the jounce geometry and now is less capable of taking hits from the road.