Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I'm new to focusfanatics so please bear with me.
Okay so I have a 05 ZX3 with a relitively stock 2.0 engine and a 5 speed tranny. I've been trying to figure out what is the max SAFE rev limit? I regularly shift at 5k rpm but im not sure if this is safe as I would like my engine to last a year or 2 more. Thanks
Jesse

·
Banned
2,334 Posts
i would hope that your motor would last more then 1-2 years. i would say its safe to 6000 rpms but if you want your car to stay strong threw all the abuse that it sounds like you want to put it threw , i would go get a tune. factory tunes are crap!!!! ooh wecome to ff. you should read up on the duratec here on the forum.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
i would hope that your motor would last more then 1-2 years. i would say its safe to 6000 rpms but if you want your car to stay strong threw all the abuse that it sounds like you want to put it threw , i would go get a tune. factory tunes are crap!!!! ooh wecome to ff. you should read up on the duratec here on the forum.
Awsome I'll be looking into a tune soon then. Thanks for the help.
Jesse

·
Registered
116 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdnld4482
6300, isnt that when it cuts out on stock tune

i'm not so sure about that... my 06 goes right up and past 7K's on my tach. Factory tach i have never played with anything... ( yes, safe track use... first gear when really fast ha ha)

·
Registered
2,807 Posts
^^ he never mentioned holding it at 7000.

·
Registered
8,506 Posts
the stock tach isnt 100% accurate, mine reads 200RPM's above what the engine is really doing

IIRC the stock rev limiter is 6250...