Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Tappet bucket questions

Hi,

I am having a hard time seeing the inside of the buckets. I can see some of it but I was wondering if the numbers are engraved or painted on.

Scared to clean the inside up a little just in case!

Please advise.

Thanks!

·
Registered
16,026 Posts
Once they are used you measure them rather than trust the numbers, some wear in to be off the number a bit. And what if somebody has remachined some to get in effect new again or to hit ones they can't find?

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you. Changed the subject since I think this general subject might drag out for a bit as I struggle to find information during searches.

Would a micrometer be what I'd use to measure them with? If so, from the point of contact where the bucket meets the valve stem to point where the bucket meets the camshaft lobe?

I have never used one before and all I have is dial calipers.

Also, I'd still like to know if those numbers are engraved or painted on. I'd at least like something to compare my measurements against just in case.

·
Thats What She Said
10,704 Posts
I think your best bet is to start playing assembly and use feeler gauges. put them in and then ones that are to tall of "valve lash" put int the ones with to small. You can use a micrometer to find the depth to reduce the build and tare down and build process.

A micrometer thought could impact the surface of the cam if you are not careful.

Yes you measure from the polished top surface to the post inside the bucket.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
I think your best bet is to start playing assembly and use feeler gauges. put them in and then ones that are to tall of "valve lash" put int the ones with to small. You can use a micrometer to find the depth to reduce the build and tare down and build process.