Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2000 zx3 replaced clutch last year ran good till just the other day . It started to lunge on the start up and wouldnt go into gears while running when the car is off it goes into gears just fine it does this for a couple days then it works fine for a couple more days then it does it again im thinking that the cold weather might have something to do with it i have a new master to put in just want to make sure im in the right direction any help will be great thank you.

·
Registered
414 Posts
Sounds hydraulic related so you are on the right path, check everything before replacing anything to avoid wasting money. So you start your car in gear with clutch pedal pushed? Seems impossible, but does it also lunge if you're in neutral? Could be shifter/shifter cable issue as well if this happens when you think trans is in neutral. Try pumping the clutch a couple times when it's hard to grab a gear, might be able to build pressure and diagnose hydraulics more definitively.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Starts fine in neutral. I have tried pumping to get it in gear doesnt seem to help. Im gonna put the master in and bleed the system again and check the linkage if thats not it my other option is the throw out bearing thanks for the info

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
Since we're talking about this in another thread, I'll add that double checking for clutch pedal return spring proper operation might help.

If the pedal isn't pulled back to the top at each stroke, it won't "pump" as it should & pedal can drop if the master isn't perfect.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #6