Focus Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I get a crap ton of throttle lag, I have to slip the shit out of the transmission to get off the line quickly. Kinda hairy if you need to jump in front of traffic. I chirp the tires every time I'm at a stoplight on a hill.

I know my 07 Mercedes C class did this too, but I could buy something to plug into the OBD port that would kill the lag.

Is something like this available for the Focus?

·
Registered
2,654 Posts
Doubtful that anything would be out yet. Most people have been praising the transmission and pickup with the manual equipped cars... post a video of your issues.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok I will have to do that later.

I've been driving a manual car of some kind for 15 years, but I think I will have to change the clutch before the lease is up.

I think the problem is that the ecu won't let the throttle open 100% below 2500 rpm. It feels more like 30%.

·
Registered
2,654 Posts
Ok I will have to do that later.

I've been driving a manual car of some kind for 15 years, but I think I will have to change the clutch before the lease is up.

I think the problem is that the ecu won't let the throttle open 100% below 2500 rpm. It feels more like 30%.
Probably not. It's designed for fuel economy and even with the manual it might have some kind of traction control electronic limitation.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Manual vs Automatic speed

Which one is faster? I ended up ordering the SEL manual because I test drove the titanium, albeit not in sport mode and only in D. I wish i could have tested in sport mode as well.

·
Registered
59 Posts
You can get an SEL with a 5 speed in Canada???

No fair [bigcry]
yes... but Europe has the best version... SEL is great, but i wanted TI mostly for the Intelligent Key, but chose the functionality of manual transmission vs IA Key.