Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to get new speakers for my ZX3. I used to be a musician, so I hear the music a little different than everyone else. I'm looking for good quality sound, with good bass punch. NOT SUBWOOFER BASS! I want to hear the the bass drum and bass notes. MAybe if there are some fellow musicians in here you could help me out.
Should I look at two or three way type speakers? I kind of like the Infinity's.

Also- Are the wires connected to the speakers with terminals or solder?

·
Registered
563 Posts
Well the only way you are going to get the lower bass notes are with a subwoofer. Regular speakers are basically mid-range speakers and don't reproduce the lower frequencies too well. If you want the lower bass, but don't want subwoofers, check out Resonant Engineering's 8" subwoofers (www.REaudio.com). They are incredibly affordable, and an amazing subwoofer. They sound good, and they get fairly loud for an 8" subwoofer. I think one of these would be the exact kind of thing you are looking for.

·
Registered
400 Posts
In my old 00 sedan, I had the polk audio momo speakers installed. Pretty good bass without a subwoofer. They were about $150 for the pair. I installed them myself. If you go to circuit city, you can purchase an adapter that turns the ford terminals into the speaker wire connectors for car speakers. Each one of those ran about $1.98 each.The install was easy. Taking apart the door panel can be a little frustrating if you do not have power windows. Infinity speakers are nice, but I found their bass is a little to weak. That is why I choose the Polk audio.

·
Registered
2,331 Posts
I'm not a musician, but I worked around pro audio a number of years when I was younger. I don't know if it was a blessing or curse. [;)] Once you hear what an audio system can sound like, it makes it hard to settle for less. Budget then becomes the deciding factor...