Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I was wondering if anyone could help me. I bought a 2004 Focus LX saloon a week or so ago, and I've noticed a leak under the front of the car, left of centre. I haven't been able to check it out properly yet as there has been a lot of rain recently.

Leak didn't seem to be too oily, but I think some oil was in it.

Here is a picture of where the leak is:

I've looked at the car engine from above and can't see anything wet, but can see a wet patch when looking underneath the car, but I'm not sure where it is coming from - I'm no expert!

Can anyone suggest what could be wrong, I really don't want an expensive bill at the moment!

·
Registered
1,203 Posts
Is it a manual or automatic transmission, if it's a automatic it could be a transmission leak

Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk 2

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's a manual. I'm in the UK, so it is a right hand drive too.

Also, my oil meter in the car doesn't appear to be going down.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Check your fluids and see if any have gone down recently. I learned that the T-Stat housing are made of plastic and can leak. Believe it is in the same area as your leak. Check coolant.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Thanks for all the replies, I haven't been able to get a sample of what was leaking as it was raining again and I have to park the car on the road. It seems to have stopped now.

I checked most of the fluids I could, screen washer, engine coolant, brake/clutch fluid, oil and power steering and all seem OK.

What other fluid could it be? Could it be radiator water or something?

Could the coolant be leaking slowly? Maybe I'll keep an eye on that.

The cars seems to be running fine still although the only thing that I've notice change since buying it about 2 weeks ago is that the clutch makes a slight whining noise when going through the bite-point in first gear.

·
Registered