Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today me and my friend went out to try to find out what the best way is to launch my car. We tried all different rpms and found that 3000rpm seems to get the least wheelspin(about 3 rotations of the tires) with out the car bogging. Does this seem right to you guys? I tried 3500 and 3700 and my wheels seem to spin way to much, but alot of people here say that is what you are supposed to launch at, maybe every car is different?
Im going to the 1/4 strip for the first time this weekend(weather permiting) and I want to try and get some decent times, but I am not expecting to be in the 15s yet because Im really new to a manual tranny.
I also read I shouldnt be in 4th gear at all in a 1/4th race, that I should top out 3rd? Sound right?

·
Registered
9,084 Posts
top of 3rd i around 90mph, you may touch 4th but i doubt you'd run in it for any length of time.

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
n/a you should stay in 3rd.. I didn't have to get into fourth until I added nitrous.

I would hit the limiter right at the 1/4 mark, so I just held that rpm, instead of wasting time shifting early. Trying it both ways, I was always faster staying in 3rd. (this is when I was running very low 15's, I had some bolt-ons but no spray)

·
Registered
169 Posts
also u say 3000 rpm is the right RPM to launch at....keep in mind at the strip there is already rubber on the ground making ur tires grip even more so u might want to bump that rpm up a bit to just under 3500 just play around with it ull find the right rpm

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
^ you will need to find the right RPM for your track and tire combo... some guys can launch at 4500 on street tires, others spin out at 3k.. its hard to guess the traction available unless you are talking to folks driving on the same track

·
Registered
210 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
launch rpm and et