Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, first post here, I figured I'd make it a good one. I'm active on the Ford Focus ST Forum site and I posted my build thread there, but those guys don't seem to care as much about audio/acoustics as much as speed parts and talks about big turbos etc., so I figured I'd share with the whole Focus community what I've been up to.

I am just a hobbyist audio enthusiast, but I've done many builds over the years and learned a lot as I go. I readily accept any constructive criticism, and of course questions are great as we all learn from them.

This is the car

I started by measuring the available space and then created models in Sketch3D like I do a lot of my builds.

I decided to forgo the spare in this build, but I did model a smaller, simpler system that kept the spare and utilized the space around it, should I ever want or need to have the spare in the car.

This is the subwoofer box beginning. It is built in layers for strength and maximum use of space without being forced to use fiberglass. I hate using fiberglass so you'll see me go to extreme lengths to avoid it, even if it means using crazy wood shapes. This box is made mostly with 3/4" Birch ply, a strong and light wood overall. I prefer it to MDF most of the time due to its superior strength

This is a test-fit of the enclosure in the car

The goal of the system's design was to remain at the factory floor height, at all costs. This is the stock floor height with my subwoofer design under it

I believe in interlocking my build parts together and with the car as much as possible, to protect both the equipment and occupants in the car should a collision occur. An example of this is how I built the sub box to snug up against the factory floor spare tire stand-off, as shown here