Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2012 focus sel dps6
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a 2012 sel with the infamous dps6 and 145k. Needless to say, I need a clutch but I'm a mechanic and I'm going to tackle the job because the dealer wants $1800. My question is what is the newest revision? I found a F1FZ-7B546-B online and just want to make sure it's the newest/ best option. Thanks in advance

·
Registered
2012 focus sel dps6
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have, I actually have watched many of his videos, he is very good at the modern ford stuff.

·
Registered
2012 focus sel dps6
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well, it looks like that is the newest, from what I'm gathering. I've bought the clutch, release bearing, seals and specialty tools to do this job for just under $800. I'll update you guys with how it goes.

·
Registered
2012 focus sel dps6
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well, I got it apart and found the clutch forks rusty and one of them not sliding correctly so I went ahead and got new forks, got the job done saturday night and didn't really get to drive it much at all but thought I was good. I got 50 miles from home and bam there is the same stupid transmission overheating light...🤬🤬🤬🤬 so, other than selling it, what do I do?

·
Registered
159 Posts
Do the 5-speed conversion?
That was my thought when I saw his question. The only problem is that he has already invested time and money into trying to fix the notoriously bad DCT.

Assuming he doesn't want a 5-speed conversion, fix it so the light's not on and sell it. Don't buy anything with a DCT.

·
Registered
2012 focus sel dps6
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
That was my thought when I saw his question. The only problem is that he has already invested time and money into trying to fix the notoriously bad DCT.

Assuming he doesn't want a 5-speed conversion, fix it so the light's not on and sell it. Don't buy anything with a DCT.