Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
okay, so my SVT focus had 114k on the stock struts and springs which from what I've read is a big NO NO. For the most part the car still handled well, but the struts would fully compress and give a loud WACK sound when hitting potholes or the smallest hint of uneven pavement. SOOOO, I opted to have the struts, springs, and shock absorbers replaced on all four wheels. As a broke college student I had to save some penny's so I went with the Koni orange struts and shocks, and did the koni blue springs. (saving money and not going with the koni yellows) This lowered the car a little bit, maybe 3/4" but the car is now WORST THEN IT WAS with the old worn parts by comparison. The strut tower mounts were also replaced, but here is where I think I went wrong. I had no idea what bump stops were prior, so I did not buy any and my mechanic just reused the old ones. So now for my question. HAVING NOT REPLACED THE BUMP STOPS, IS THIS WHY MY CAR DRIVES LIKE CRAP OVER POTHOLES AND UNEVEN PAVEMENT, EVEN WORSE THEN BEFORE??? (and by worst I mean even more sensitivity to pot holes or uneven pavement causing the front struts to compress and give a loud WACK!!) One of the new struts seems to be making a really irritating squeak/creeky sound when driving.

Any suggestions, advise, help, questions are greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
8,023 Posts
First, I'm not familiar with the Koni blue springs. I tried hard to keep up with aftermarket springs and shocks for earlier Foci and haven't run across these. Do you have to know the spring rates? Are you sure they are Koni's and not Tokicos? Tokico makes a relatively popular shock and spring also know as "blues". The springs are known to be pretty soft.