Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,331 Posts
For $299 shipped, you'll want Oz Audio Matrix Elite 180CS
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=15332

Read my review on that page as well. I had the top line CDT Eurosport components, and the Oz are much better for a lot less money. The Oz originally retailed over the counter for $650.

As for mounting them in the doors, you'll need to make 1/2" baffle spacers, and sound dampen the doors.

Baffle How-To in the FAQ:
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=24009

A-pillar Tweeter How-To in FAQ:
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=38480

·
Registered
4,805 Posts
It is possible.

I am by no means a professional, or a carpenter...
and by my 4th or 5th attempt of making an MDF baffle spacer,
I was able to have 2-3 of the screws mount into the door, with a few screws
for the driver.

Yes, I admit that my shotty wood skillz made the speakers sound like crap after a medium sound level.

Thank god for eDead sound deadening material. I used that to seal up all the gaps and everywhere else on the door panel and it's like 10 times better, with little distortion at high volume level.

I think a Roto-zip makes it 100 times easier. I used a Hole-drilling set like the ones used for household door's. Just drill around in a circle.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
FocusInCali: Wow, what a custom job! [thumb] Thanks for the info and links. Hmm I'm curious...how many hours should it take a seasoned installer to deaden the doors as well as yours, build & installs spacers/speakers and install tweets in a-pillars?

Foci_Fosho: I doubt I have the skills or tools to do such a "OEM" looking job. But it's great to have the photos to show an installer.

·
Registered
2,331 Posts
quick01 said: