Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'd like to apologize in advance if this is a dumb question.. as I am still fairly new to this..

I was wondering, Is it possible to get a tune without any major performance mods?

My 05 Focus ZX3 with an ATX (currently at 109,000 miles) only has the "Stealth" Cai mod and since I did that, the car is even more peppy than it normally is. I'm just lovin the sound and the extra bit of power... while a very small gain, I still notice it. (It sometimes has this awesome whistle before it shifts to the next gear. I'm not sure if that's a leak though..)

However I wish that the ATX could shift better. Is a tune possible to improve automatic shifting? Or would I have to get more performance mods to improve this. I'm not really a mechanic I can do just enough to get myself by if I need to and I certainly don't have 3,000+ dollars to spend on my ride lol (I wish)
[:D]

·
Registered
353 Posts
Not a dumb question at all. A tune should be your first mod imho as it is the foundation for the rest of the mods you are going to do. You will not only see better driveability/power but also increased MPG. Oh and to add yes, Tom can change shift pressures for better performance iirc.

·
Registered
87 Posts
^ I second that advice. You'll enjoy the tune. Make sure to discuss thermostats with your tuner as having your cooling system clean and working well is important when generating more heat.

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
^ I second that advice. You'll enjoy the tune. Make sure to discuss thermostats with your tuner as having your cooling system clean and working well is important when generating more heat.