Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all, newbie here.
i read thru some of the old posts, esp that thread from several weeks ago about ipod compatibility. but i'm still confused. here's the deal; i gots me an 03 zx3 with the factory standard hu and 6 disc changer. now, a friend of mine said he found out that there are 2 outputs (please excuse any bad terminology here... my knowlege of car stereo stuff is not vast). one is for the disc changer and is analog, and that there's another that's digital and it's for if you'd want a changer in the trunk or whatever. he then said that one can buy a converter to convert the signal to analog and therefore plug in the ipod. end product; being able to have the ipod and the disc changer hooked up so i could switch back and forth.

this is silly, i know. but i'm just curious.
is this all utter crap, what's the bottom line for the changer? i have to take it out to play my ipod? can i put in a regular cd player and have my ipod? i'm serioulsy an idiot; i know nothing about wiring diagrams or anything. i just want to know what i'm talking about if i take my car somewhere to get stuff put in or whatever. (or if i *gasp* take this on myself with a friend)

[???:)]

thank you thank you thank you!

·
Registered
32 Posts
From what I've gathered, reading most of the threads here and on other boards, you cannot hook an iPod or any other aux input into the in-dash 6 cd changer. The non-changer units apparently have an input, for a changer I guess, that is disabled on the in-dash changer model. I've got the in-dash changer in my ZX5 and was looking into using an external mp3 player with it.