Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy all,

I originally posted this in the interior section as part of a larger problem, but for some reason it won't let me reply to my old thread. I'm a newbie, so maybe that's why. Anyway, I thought I'd post about it here since it actually does have to do with audio.

I want to be able to listen to my ipod in my car (2002 zx3). There's an adapter for $150 on MP3yourcar.com that allows this. There's also the possibility of spending that amount of money (or less) on an aftermarket headunit.

I've been debating this for a while and would like to get some thoughts on it. I had an aftermarket headunit in my old car and it was stolen. I installed another one, and from then on I removed the faceplate every time I left the car. What a PAIN that was!! So I really don't want to have to go through that again, which is why I thought of getting the adapter instead. Also, with the adapter I can use the radio controls to control my ipod. In addition, a lot of the aftermarket stereos I've found have the aux input in the front, so that means nasty wires hanging down. Yuck. I can do a clean install with the adapter.

So maybe I'm missing a benefit of aftermarket headunits that I'm not thinking about? I know $150 is a crazy amount of money for an adapter, but it really does seem to make sense as far as functionality is concerned. But I could definitely be wrong... feel free to throw some opinions out. I'm definitely not an audiophile so I'm probably not fully aware of all my options.

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Ariana

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
wow, I didn't know they sold headunits that control the ipod straight up. That's pretty cool.

However, if I went this way I would still have to deal with taking the faceplate off every time and having the wires hanging out the front. Is there any way to get around these issues?

·
Registered
168 Posts