Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright, so I'm really new to this. I just bought a 2005 Cloud 9 Focus about a month ago, and today I put my frist aftermarket *thing* on it, Sylvania Cool Blue Halogen's. I'm kinda looking to add a Cold Air Intake, I really wanted to know what's good, and what's worked for you? I believe it's a Duratec 2.0

Thanks for all the input!

·
2focusedracing
1,799 Posts
I've never had problems with the rain, just have to clean the filter more often. if you get alot of rain you could always get a bypass filter just to be safe[thumb]

·
Registered
9,084 Posts
dbthor14 said:
dont go with the aem cai b/c then everytime it rains u are skrewed
or get it because i had mind on for over a year and never had a single problem.

·
Registered
156 Posts
well you guys must get like one inch of rain the whole year b/c everytime it rains it gets wet and u are suckin water, ur goin to blow an engine

·
Registered
103 Posts
I have an AEM Cai in my 00 zx3 and it was the first thing i put on my car, 3 years later and 50000 miles without a bypass still running strong. I have never had a problem running through water all it did was bog down for a few seconds and im talking about a foot of water. Plus it also makes the car sound so much better.

·
Registered
859 Posts
Focusedaddiction,

AFAIK, there is no bypass available for the Duratec.

Dbthor14,

You stated "b/c everytime it rains it gets wet and u are suckin water, ur goin to blow an engine."

This sounds very odd to me. Everything I have read indicates you must completely submerge your intake in order to hydrolock.

Do you have ANY evidence simply driving around in the rain leading to a blown engine?

Spreading unfounded fears and/or urban myths here on the forums is of little help to other readers.

·
Registered
571 Posts