Focus Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,218 Posts
There are threads here and on FJ which will be very useful, when I get home, I will send you links to them. The key to a successful swap is to match the plug on the back of the new cluster with the harness plug. I have read that you can add a cluster with tach, even if your car didn't come with one. The mileage will be an issue, however, since the mileage is not stored in the gauge cluster, as it was prior to the 2005 revision. Otherwise, they will bolt right in, and it's plug and play. Good luck.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
386 Posts
EDIT -- The Cluster Removal Process in the link provided by FocusedSlayer, was intended for 00-04 models.. the 05-07 are slightly different.
Brian, not sure if you've checked it out before, but here is a list of How-To's for (mostly) All your modding needs -- http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=65218

Whether you plan on completely swapping the cluster or just changing the gauges, THIS has the removal instructions you're looking for:http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=61061

This one seems less word-descriptive, but has Pictures to help:

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=96223

I took mine out many times (even drove with half of the pieces missing!), so let me know if you have any issues. If you're changing the face/cluster, maybe take the time to think about changing the lights, if you haven't done so, since you're already in there.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mainest

·
Registered
Joined
·
386 Posts
Now if you just want to change some colors...
Do you want to change the trim, like in this photo (it's the silver):



OR the gauge faces (white background, numbers/lines), like in this photo?



I only skimmed through these, but they should also help with changing your gauge face: http://www.jwardell.com/focus/guages.html
http://www.myfordfocus.com/how-to/gauge-face.htm

Depending on how you "change" your gauge face, you may need to do a little more detailed work. I only changed the bulb/LED colors in my cluster, but it required sanding away stupid green film on the back side of the (glued on) stock black gauge face. (I'm sure if you simply replaced the face with something aftermarket, it would be clear.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
96 Posts
So if I understand what the link said about a full cluster swap it is pretty much a plug and play deal. I want to swap to a cluster with a tach as mine hasnt got one. Although i will definatly swap the lights out. One question though, I have a cousin who works in the service Dept for a ford dealer can they reprogram the mileage in the new cluster to match the original cluster?
 

·
So mote be it
Joined
·
8,962 Posts
One question though, I have a cousin who works in the service Dept for a ford dealer can they reprogram the mileage in the new cluster to match the original cluster?
Yes they should be able to program the clusters mileage for you, the mileage is stored with the cluster.

Before you go out and buy a new cluster, talk to your cousin to find out if they can roll the mileage in both directions or only in one direction. You dont want to buy a higher mileage cluster to find out they can only increase the mileage, ect..

Your other option (what i did) is to find a cluster with only 1-2k more miles and then swap out when your car hits the same miles. I dont have a cousin who works at a ford dealer and don't want to pay the $70-100 for it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
does anyone know if the 00-04 cluster is interchangeable with any other vehicles in the ford range, shape wise, not wiring wise.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Different Connectors?

I was under the impression that 2000-2004 clusters were interchangeable. I found an instrument cluster from 2002 for my 2004, but the connector is different. Any ideas?
 

·
Vince your Moderator
Joined
·
5,074 Posts
I was under the impression that 2000-2004 clusters were interchangeable. I found an instrument cluster from 2002 for my 2004, but the connector is different. Any ideas?
SPI to SPI

Zetec to Zetec(including SVT's)

Duratec to Duratec

are how the swaps go.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Have an 08 focus ses 2 door coupe 5 speed my Speedo and tach quit I purchased a used cluster off eBay it put my car in theft mode so had to reinstall original one called Ford they say the used cluster cannot be reprogrammed to my car???
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top