Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One thing I've noticed about the 2012 Focus, although it has a nice linear power delivery, the car doesn't really get going unless you're at WOT.

Since the cylinder's CR is high in this engine (12:1), I don't think the FI route would be the most practical. Also, if I wanted a turbo I'd have held out for the ST.

So aside from FI, does anyone have any input on how to extract some more power out of this motor? The car seems pretty quick at WOT, but sometimes 60% throttle is not enough to pass traffic.

Obviously there's intake/exhaust/tune, which would probably net 10whp if you're lucky I'm guessing?

Any other ideas? Maybe some people here have had experience with prior versions of the duratec in cars like the Contour. Underdrive pulley maybe for some improved throttle response? I'm new to the whole Duratec modding scene so again, forgive my ignorance, but if anyone has any input it would be appreciated.

·
Registered
232 Posts
[driving]put your foot down farther!

I just started driving mine last week and have always found that it takes awhile to get a good feel for the throttle/brakes etc so you can get the car to do exactly what you want it to. Give yourself a bit of time to get in tune with the throttle response and you will find the car quicker when you need it.

·
Registered
254 Posts
Personally mine is a 5 speed. And I'm sure the car is geared for Fuel Economy, so maybe that explains the lack of responsiveness at partial throttle..?
An ecu reprogram will help with the fuel economy behavior. We just have to wait for availability.

We'll also see some improvements with various boltons and even more with engine software to take advantage of those botlons.

·
Registered
93 Posts
The auto focus is going to be the major bummer. The transmission wont be strong enough to handle any major increases in power, unlike the manual.

·
Sonic Crew #04
7,513 Posts