Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Focus Preacher
3,408 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
*Disclaimer* I’m not an expert critic nor pretend to be one. Neither is English my mother tongue.

So I finally rented a 2013 Focus SE sedan (Just shy of 40K miles) with the dredded DCT for two weeks in order to feel and judge how it behave under many daily circumstances we can encounter and also to know what’s the fuzz about it.
I think something that could be useful compared to other reviews is that I know really well my 5sp 2012 Focus SE HB.

At first, the DCT would perform poorly especially within the first day of driving. It felt like it was someone trying to learn manual transmission.
Excessive clutch slippage between first and second gears often leading to a shuddering (rev mismatch?) when they finally engaged.

I’ve noticed that this kind of transmission doesn’t love to be treated nicely. Slow start from a stop was the worse until you give it more gas.
The shifting further improved when it knew my driving habit and could anticipate what’s going on.

I did try some of the tricks people on FF talked about. Few hard launches and it improved dramasticaly. Also tried the Gas and Brake method,it didn’t change anything maybe because the clutches were already broke-in at that mileage?
Often after a long traffic run, under the hood you could smell the clutches overheating (smell exactly when you slip too much a MTX) this is something that preoccupies me for the longevity of the clutch set.

The big mistake Ford/Getrag did with the DCT is to make it behave like a planetary gears transmission (AKA slushbox). Making the first gear slip when releasing the brake to make it feel like it was fluid coupled is wrong. This hurt the clutch because people will make them slip all the time unaware of how a DCT work.

Already after three days of driving, I could feel improvement ... shuddering almost disappeared!