Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm new to this, and haven't really seen many posts related to this in the past five years, but here goes:

I drive an '01 ZX3 with the Zetec engine. I recently decided to get a new battery since I was having problems with the last one (it was small, didn't even take up the entire battery compartment). The battery would die after long times without starting the car (I'm a student, so I would go months without driving it. Recently, my dad was trying to sell it, and he had been starting it to show people, and it wasn't having problems). I've been reading about parasitic drains since my further problems occurred, and that may have been it. Anyway, I chose to bring the car with me to school. That's when I decided to get a new battery, so I had one less thing to worry about. I got the battery yesterday.

I buy the battery, and the guy at Advance Auto helped me install it. All is good. Then I put the key in, turn to accessory mode, dash lights turn on, gauges work, then I turn to ignition, and everything dies. The engine doesn't turn over, nothing. Dash lights and gauges died too. Even the ding from having the door open and key in ignition didn't work. It would try to start dinging, but not have enough power, so it would just click repeatedly.

We figure the battery was faulty, so we get another. He tested the old one; it was completely empty. He tested the new one; it was charged. The new battery had just been shipped in the week prior; he pulled it right off the pallet. We install it, and the same thing happens. He tells me it's my car, and there's nothing he can do about it. I ask if he can try jumping it, and he insists it won't work. I wasn't having that, so he gives me the portable jumper, we jump it, and it starts right up. He unplugs it, and I leave the car running for ~20 mins while I get info for a mechanic (just in case) and buy back my old battery.