Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, well it has been some time since I have been around here, My SVT has been holding up great, just got the timing belt replaced because that is what I heard to do when I get to 100k, went well, but the other day my check engine light came on, I brought it back to the dealer, they did a check, It is one of my o2 sensors have failed, they quoted me $200 for the part and installation, so is that something i can do for cheaper or should i go with them? next finding oil on my drivers side floor mat, I have a leak in my master cylinder for my clutch, not my brakes, but clutch, anyways how hard is that to replace they quoted me $400 for the replacement of that. any input would be great. here is the latest pic of my car:

Thanks!
Jon

·
Registered
835 Posts
The O2 you can for sure do yourself, the sensor is only around $70(get the bosch one), and can be done in I would say 15 minutes with the right tools...
Clutch master cylinder I have no clue. It is something on my to do list aswell...
Here is the How-To for the master cylinder replacement clicky...

Oh and by the way the car looks good!!!

·
Registered
234 Posts
^^^^^ What he said. I went to Autozone and borrowed the correct tool for the O2 sensor. It's basically a ratchet attachment that has a slit in one side so the wire can fit through it and it made it really easy. I think it cost $20 for the set of different sizes and you get he money back when you return it.

·
Registered
758 Posts
Clutch master cylinder is fairly simple, but you have to "pretzel" your way into the cabin up behind the dash to replace it, unless you are pretty limber (sp?), i'd recommend the dealer doing it....just to be on the safe side....

But the o2 is fairly easy, you could do that yourself with a correct tool as mentioned above and a jack and some jack stands in the driveway...

·
WhiteSTguy
5,390 Posts