Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks!

Forgive me if this feels a little like deja vu. I have read the numerous posts about ignition cylinders and replacement problems, but I don't think this specific situation was addressed, and if it was, I just couldn't wrap my head around it.

I recently bought a 2001 focus hatchback. I inherited 2 ford factory keys: One for the doors and one for the ignition.
Because the key was a little sticky and I knew about the common cyclinder problems, I went ahead and bought a Strattec kit online, removed my old cylinder and recoded the new cylinder, so it would work with my original key.

The new cylinder is working great; however, I can't start the car.

If I'm using the same key do I still have to reprogram?

The key is a basic ford key without a fab.

I had the battery disconnected during the install...

Any help is very much appreciated. I am just learning how to work on vehciles beyond an oil change and I may be in over my head!

·
Registered
17,175 Posts
If either key is not encoded with a chip to match the PCM it won't start. Even if seller called one the 'ignition' key.

You say as well car won't start but there can be 50 other reasons behind that in the way you have described it.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Howdy!

Thanks a ton for replying. Let me provide a bit more context.

So the car was starting and running right before I replaced the ignition cylinder and the ignition switch. It was working perfectly with the original key.

I am using the same key. The battery is fully charged etc...

·
Registered
17,175 Posts
It should go back to doing the same unless you flawed the work in some way.

You should detail what you mean by 'won't start' it means many things.

·
Registered
1,828 Posts
So the car was starting and running right before I replaced the ignition cylinder and the ignition switch. It was working perfectly with the original key.