Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I purchased a 2015 Ford Focus SE from a Hertz Dealership in Richardson,TX.
I am a college student at UNT, so my options were pretty limited on what I could buy. I decided to go with the Ford Focus because I needed it to commute to my internship. I have to travel from Denton to Addison on a daily basis, which is about an hour commute. When I purchased the car, it had 39K miles on it, which I know is sort of high for it being a 2015 considering I purchased it in March 2016, but I needed a car desperately. I didn't purchase the extended warranty because I am a damn college student and it is a 2015, so I figured I wouldn't see failure for a while.

I purchased the car for about $12K. Five months later into owing the car and while I was traveling from Dallas to San Antonio for business, my transmission control module fails. I was warned with an alert on my dash saying " Alert: Transmission failure. Service now." The transmission then begins to act like it doesn't know what gear to be in. I exit the highway and pull over immediately.

I called a tow truck using Ford Road Side Assistance, and proceed to wait for a tow truck for 3 HOURS in the middle of a thunderstorm. (Which I know is the service provider's fault, but Ford proceeded to wait on the provider even though they said they were "10 minutes away," for 3 HOURS.

The car has been at the Johnson Brothers Dealership for a week to get serviced by their mechanics. The transmission control module is still on back order from Ford.I am covered by the Power-train warranty, luckily.

I have been in contact with Ford Customer Service and they refuse to give me a loaner, even though it may be up to a week til they receive the part needed.

Is this something common with Ford? Is service suppose to be this terrible?
As of right now, I regret purchasing this Ford Focus.

·
Registered
497 Posts