Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I am an Spanish exchange student living in San Diego for the next year. On Wednesday I bought a 2001 Gray Ford Focus. I was looking for a reliable, gas saver, good looking car and I am happy with my purchase.

I am a auto mechanic enthusiast and a car detailer. But, I would like to have some help to fix my problems faster.

There are things I need to address on this used car, that lowed the price the owner was asking. First the A/C works, but it is not very cold. I am thinking on checking leaks, pressure and refilling the system following this focus hack.

Second, the car doesn't have power locks. Yes, who will buy a car in 2001 without power locks?! Well, I guess some people do. I am thinking on buying a kit to install it, because it is really annoying to close every door manually. I was wondering if somebody knows if there are kits with remotes for this.

Third, the car doesn't have power windows either. I will be installing a SPAL kit following this how to. I have read SPAL are pretty recommended.

And last, but not least. I was wondering if Ford has any specific code reader device, like VW does in Europe. What code reader do you recommend me? I don't know any American brand name.

I am living in San Diego, so if somebody know a place around where I can buy this stuff it would be awesome. Would it better idea to get it on the internet? any internet Focus store?

Thank you for your time, I hope I can fix my car in one or two months and have it the way it deserves.

·
Slow n lifted
10,570 Posts
well it looks like you know what you want to do and have good things to do.

only thing you really need advice on is the code reader. If you can find a cheap used sct that is good other wise your local auto store usually has one to use free or just rent it

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #3