Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I'm new here.

I have the stock 195/60 R15 tires and stock rims on my ZX3 Hatch right now...I want to upgrade to 205/50 R16 with new 16" rims.

I work in a shop and one of the mechanics said it would be a bad idea to change the stock rims and tires due to gear ratios and what-not. That makes perfect sense, but will upgrade my rims by one inch really affect my performance?

·
Registered
2,805 Posts
205/50/16 is what came stock for the Foci with 16's factory. you're not going to have a problem. . .

·
Oh yeah!
2,522 Posts
It'll affect the gear ratios? Who's this mechanic?

It will affect the speedometer based on the fact your tire/wheel combonination is a different size, therefore rotating at a different speed. This will affect what your speedometer's reading and only varies slightly depending on the size difference between the original combination and the new one.

You will have a slightly stiffer sidewall due to a smaller tire sidewall and more rim being in the void space than a tire. You will also have more mass a little bit further from the center of the wheel which will rob you of some power. However, the tires available in the 16" size and the sidewall stiffness will improve the handling from your current 15" set up. You will most likely have less unsprung weight since you'll be going from steel wheels to a lighter alloy wheel. You'll also get a wider rim that can support a larger section width for your tire. This will lead to better braking and acceleration traction, and your lateral grip will increase tremendously (depending on the tires you choose, but definitely has the capability).

I would go with a 225/45/16 tire if you have the option. It will have a slightly lower profile, but you'll have a noticeable gain in tire width (over 15%), which will net you much better traction (think safety on top of handling performance).

·
Registered
3 Posts