Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I have a little while before I go turbo but out of curiosity are hypereutectic pistons direct drop when rebuilding? Or it doesn't matter if you go forged or hypereutectic you still need to machine the cylinder head for clearance? I ask because I have some experience with rebuilds so I was wondering if I got hypereutectic pistons with forged rods and a forged crank if it will be as simple as rebuilding the engine with them or I have to still make sure the clearance is right. Now before any one flames me and says forged is the way to go I was thinking of some of the draw backs of forged and it possibly might be easier to go with stronger cast pistons. Plus I'm not looking for more than 250 whp maybe eventually 300. I know stock internals could handle that Just wanna make sure my car will still be reliable as it is my dd.

·
Aurelius Pardus
26,535 Posts
machine the head how?

Pistons are pretty much the same process with the exception of knowing which materials expand more and adjusting for that. so clearance will have to be checked of course.

If you're going boosted one thing I can say about hypereutectic pistons is that make sure your tune is good good good..... detonation destroys the hell out of engines with them, being that the pistons are very brittle.

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well I really have no idea how the clearance thing works to be honest. I was just wondering if it will be a direct bolt on deal if I went with a cast piston vs forged just so I know if I could save some money by building my own engine. So would you recommend forged? Im just worried about the whole cold startup thing getting annoying I'm not totally against using them in my build

·
Registered
724 Posts
Hypereutetic alloy cast pistons have been the standard OE piston material since the mid 80's. So your engine already has them.