Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
( o Y o )
5,549 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My stock Blaupunkt HU has decided to not work anymore. This is the 3rd or 4th time i have had to reset it, but now it wont reset at all. Today I went to a local audio shop and they had a Kenwood X590. I am a total newb as far as car audio goes, but I do know some of the name brands. They told me this one was gonna run me about $250. Ive done some searching and looked at different prices, but theyre all somewhere above $200.

My friend suggested a JVC Arsenal KD-AR960, Sony CDX-RA700, or Alpine CDA-9856. They are all right around that price range. I want to have someform of a USB connection to my MP3 player cuz I dont have an ipod. I also want it to have pretty decent amp output because eventually i will put in better speakers. I have some mp3 burned cds that i would like the HU to play aswell.

Because I am a newb, I would like your imputs on which you guys prefer. I have owned a Pioneer HU, but really didnt find something by them. I have not owned any of these other brands of HUs so I have no idea what they are like. Please help me out, which do you guys and gals prefer?

·
Registered
3,022 Posts
Well, I'm definately no expert, but here's my opinion....

From what I've noticed (at least when I was shopping for decks) Kenwoods are more 'basic' as far as the display goes, which is fine by me (I'm more concerned that my deck sounds good, looks come second). The Alpine is a nice unit, I've had some experience with them. Again, most Alpines have a basic LCD display (usually one or two colors).

I believe that all decks in the $250 price range have three sets of preouts (in case you want to add amps and/or subs down the road). Also, make sure you go by the RMS power output. Decks that claim 52 watts per channel (max power) are really more like 18-22 watts/channel (continuous).