Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I found myself a set of Euro Bi-xenon/LED headlights and have questions on how to make it work on my Canadian-spec Ford Focus.

I have done some research and found out that the only difference lies in the pins:

Pictures of Canadian headlight pins:

5- Highbeam
7- Ground
8- Turn signal
10- Lowbeam
12- Park lamp

Pins for Euro Bi-xenon/LED headlights:

2- DRL
5- High beam
6- Bend light
7- Ground
8- Turn signal
9- Low beam Ground
10- Low beam
11- Levelling motor ground
12- Park lamp
13- Levelling motor (+)
14- Levelling Control signal

Basically I will need to connect Pin 2 to make the DRL/LED light up together with my DRL/lowbeam.

Since our DRL/lowbeam is always on, can I just tap a wire into the lowbeam and power it to the LED so that they will be on at the same time? What parts do I need in order to have a clean/straight forward install?

I'm a newbie in eletrical, any help would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
188 Posts
Where did you find a set of euro headlights cause i want some and how much did they cost?

·
Registered
138 Posts
^^+1

·
Registered
683 Posts
^^+4!!

·
Registered
343 Posts
Pins 11 13 & 14 are a problem. They require signal to the body control module and power to a stepper motor in the light housing that keeps the HID beam stable under varying conditions.
I hope I'm wrong but this is probably not going to work for you

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
It should work as people have swapped these in their "base" Focus in UK, the levelling motor is there just to let you manually control the height of the beam I believe.

I managed to find someone from UK to import a set for me, it runs me over $1K as shipping is a killer....

·
Aurelius Pardus
26,535 Posts
Pins 11 13 & 14 are a problem. They require signal to the body control module and power to a stepper motor in the light housing that keeps the HID beam stable under varying conditions.