Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
These fourms have been so helpful for me so far about my upcoming purchase of the 2012 FF. I know it has probably been posted before but when I searched I could not find a COMPLETE oil change how to guide. Will somebody please post a step by step guide (with pics) on how to do an oil change. Thanks so much. I know I am a rookie noobie but there are others that are wondering this too![wiggle]

·
Registered
4,475 Posts
One issue of changing the oil is havinga really GOOD oil catching device.
There are all sorts of them, from old frying pans to cardboard boxes (bad bad idea)
The very best device i have ever used is this stylehttp://www.amazon.com/Wedco-W77-PAN-DRAIN-CONT12-5QT/dp/B0002JMA2K/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1316729970&sr=8-3It is low, can carry pretty much oil, and itself has a pour spout easy to use.
The yellow insert pops out and spins onto the body, then stores away nice.
For do it yourself oil changes where you are getting under the car, it is the BEST. Place it on one of those $1 rug samples. the nthe rug gets the wear sliding around on concrete, not the oil drain pan.
period. I change it HOT. i park the car on the ramps, and get under and pull the drain plug and it is HOT. Usually I just drop the drain plug into the tray..
I let it cool about a half an hour before pulling the filter, So i let it drain all that time and stick the plug back in when I do the filter.

Mine (oil drain tray) was stolen from the garage, and I searched for one, when I found one again, I bought TWO. just in case. It is THAT GOOD.
(and the drain tray will stop the drain bolt if you drop it, from falling into the inner oilpan. Nice.

Then for the filter, buy the plastic gizmo that fits the notches to remove the old one.