Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 130 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
333 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
How to change Speedo Clusters from Non-Tach style to Tach style on a 2005 in 10 Easy Steps:

Estimated time: 30 minutes max.

1. Purchase a Speedo/Tach. In 2005, the instrument clusters were changed in wiring and construction, making it mandatory that a 2005-2006 cluster be used (2000-2004 will not work). I purchased my cluster at car-part.com for $85 shipped.

2. Disconnect the negative cable on your car's battery.

3. Tools needed: 7mm combination wrench, 7mm and 8mm sockets w/ ratchet or nut driver.

4. With the 8mm socket, remove the two bolts on the lower dash trim, at about steering column level. The whole panel does not to be removed, so you can leave the lower hood cable, OBD2 plug, and attaching bolts alone.

5. Pry the lower trim panel back on the far left corner to gain access to the single bolt securing the dash trim, located right below the headlight switch.

6. Remove the bolt with a 7mm combination wrench.

7. Now it's time to remove the instrument trim panel - it just tugs loose. Once it's free from it's clips, disconnect the rubber flap that sits between the steering column and the trim panel. It's held on with rubber nipples that fit in slots on the trim panel - just pull them out one at a time.
Then, disconnect the electrical plug on the Trunk release button. The button pops out easily too. The trim panel should now be ready to lift off.

8. All that's left now is 1 plug and 4 bolts. Remove the 4 bolts attaching the cluster to the dash, and disconnect the plug. The plug latches like a basket handle - just pry up the black handle and the plug will seperate from the cluster. To plug it back on, push the handle back down and it will suck the plug onto the speedo cluster's socket.

9. I found that if your car does not have ABS or Traction Control, the cluster will illuminate the traction control, abs, and brake warning lamps whenever the key is on. To avoid staring at them lit up all the time, I remedied this by removing the upper lens and bezel from the actual speedo cluster and applying black tape over the offending led bulb lenses. When I put the bezel back on, it became impossible to tell they were permanently lit. The only down side I can see by doing this is the Brake warning lamp is now inoperable so if you're one of those who drives away with your emergency brake on or you don't check your brake fluid level periodically, this mod might not be for you.

10. It's time to install the cluster! Just put everything back on in the order it came off and you'll be done! Go enjoy!

Rob
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
333 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks amanda - i agree, it does look very plain with the stock speedo - like you're being punished for not having paid enough for the car.

rob
 

·
RespectMyAuthoritah!
Joined
·
7,105 Posts
Algorhythm said:
What about the mileage?
that was what i was going to ask......On the older models you could do a cluster swap no problem, but the actual mileage of each car was on the cluster itself and not stored on the car. Is this true for newer models?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
230 Posts
umm, proably a dumb question, but will that work for an 04? my ZTS doesnt have a tach, and its killing me. i can drive without it, but tachs are just so much more fun.

instead of buying some extra thing that looks to kid racer, can i just do this same type of install? thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
249 Posts
I can't beleive your zts is tachless. I'm sure it will work you just need a cluster from your year
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,803 Posts
wow I am going to do that to mine
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,803 Posts
are you going to be selling this conversion kit Rob?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
230 Posts
stpower said:
I can't beleive your zts is tachless. I'm sure it will work you just need a cluster from your year
i know, its kinda weird like that, check out my gallery, its true.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
333 Posts
Discussion Starter #13 (Edited)
the odometer readings on the speedo follow the cluster and cannot be altered from whatever they were from the donated car. if the mileage reading must be true to the speedo presently in the car, you're pretty much out of luck.

what i plan on doing when selling time rolls around is to sign a DMV statement of fact sheet claiming the speedometer has been replaced and the real mileage is ....

Or, if the mileage of the cluster you find is is close enough to the original (+/- 10%), don't worry about it and adopt the new cluster's mileage as gospel and leave it at that.

as for 2004 and earlier Focii, the cluster swap can be done too, except the cluster needs to be between 2000 and 2004. Try to find a cluster out of a car with similar options too, to minimize the errant light issues as i had with the abs and traction control lights.

rob
 

·
☼
Joined
·
7,494 Posts
Would these DMV time rolls be valid in VA by any chance, or only CA? I never heard of those. Also, are you gonna be selling clusters any time soon?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,803 Posts
i will be all over those for my ride
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
359 Posts
Thanks for the nice write-up! Even though I have an ATX, I'm simply used to looking at the Tach all the time, and truly miss it on this car. I've had two MTX vehicles, including my first car - it's just automatic to glance at the Tach if you're clown stomping the pedal, doncha know. (Nobody who's driven a stick for awhile uses the Tach to shift - it's just to see how much you're abusing your engine, I think...)
I read somewhere on this forum that the reason the Tach on the Focus doesn't show a redline is simply because the stock ECU won't let you redline. Does anyone know if that's true??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
464 Posts
where did you get your tach cluster and what about the mileage readout on the car? does that change or do you have to find a cluster that has mileage close to yours?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
333 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
the cluster will have the mileage from whatever car it was removed from. i use car-part.com to locate clusters when i need it.

rob
 
1 - 20 of 130 Posts
Top