Focus Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Premium Member
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So how durable is the 2.0L gdi engine?

Should i be worried if let's say i do a pull a day to near redline?

I'm curious because i don't want to blow an engine from just having a little fun. This can't be that bad, can it? Assuming of course the vehicle has all necessary vital fluids.

·
Registered
46 Posts

I'm curious because i don't want to blow an engine from just having a little fun. This can't be that bad, can it? Assuming of course the vehicle has all necessary vital fluids.
It's not just the engine. Transmission is equally expensive.

·
Premium Member
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
You will not have any problems with the engine doing that. I do that everyday on everything I drive.

Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk

Good to know. But if everything you drive is quality, then you can expect it to last. I've never really seen mk3 foci come in for engine work when i was a tech, but i also believe most of the general population doesn't drive em hard.

·
Registered
439 Posts
If you are driving an automatic it just shifts for you which never lets you get into a danger zone.

On the manual transmission cars there is a rev limiter which will drop the rpm's down if you proceed into the redline zone. Don't ask me how I know.

·
Registered
2012 Focus SE hatchback black
755 Posts
If your 2.0 ecoboost is turbo charged (ie. 2013-18 Focus ST), then read up on LSPI.
His car isn't an ST or he'd have mentioned that it was a performance model as that would be completely relevant to his question.
On the manual transmission cars there is a rev limiter which will drop the rpm's down if you proceed into the redline zone