Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey im a complete beginner with cars, but im really keen to learn!

my focus is up for a minor service and i really want to give it a go myself

i know i wont get my book stamped, but i dont care as im going to keep the car for a good few years and the mileage will be too high to sell for a good price!

so basically could anyone tell me a quick how to on changing draining the oil and changing the filter?

ive checked the air filter and cleaned that, is there anyting else that needs to be done?

·
Registered
574 Posts
jack the car up...making sure to chuck the rear wheels...then grap a oil pan or something to put the old oil in...unscrew the oil pan plug and let the old oil drain out... i take the oil cap off the top of the motor just for kicks and giggles but i dont think it helps with the flow...after i would say 5 mins i screw the plug back in the oil pan...then if u look up and to the right (if u r laying on ur back) the oil filter will be up there and and just twist it to the left for it to come off...when putting the new oil filter on rub some of the old oil on the new seal of the new oil fliter... then making sure everything it tight under the car pure new oil in the motor....then ur done...i always check to make sure all my other Fluids r at good levels and check tire puressure and run the motor to make sure there is no leaks...and ur done...should take u maybe 30 mins for a first time but once u get it done 5 10 mins is all u will need...hope this help u GOOD LUCK[thumb]

·
Registered
1,948 Posts
How many miles do you have on the car?

Changing the oil is kinda easy, The oil drain plug is right on the bottom of the pan and
is very easy to find. The oil filter on the other hand is kinda a PITA. It sits right
in the middle of the block and is a little hard to reach (get an oil filter wrench)