Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So after doing some wondering around the web, the only real full turbo kit is the one by FSWerks (formerly focussport). However, as a current college student I don't have $4,000 to drop. Besides at that price I might as well just buy a new car. I've decided to try and build my own turbo kit.

Has anyone else previously done this?
Any suggestions?
Everything is appreciated

Cheers,
Tyler

·
w/ my magic bag
29,468 Posts
Have you checked out tri point engineering? Or you might want to check out a speed3 for parts/piece's.

·
Registered
25,627 Posts
It can be done. The question is do YOU have the skills to make the parts? welding, fabrication, etc. If so you can build the kit. REMEMBER tuning will be $800 OR MORE no matter what you do. If these things don't scare you off. Go to it.

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
Moved to the Forced Induction section where you can find more info. & examples of what others have done.

·
Registered
1,472 Posts
Save for another year and go with fswerks. Building your own would be difficult with a high chance of failure like many others we see on here.

·
Registered
1,494 Posts
I have, and it's all documented in this forum.
That being said, it has been a never-ending hobby of tweaking and fixing. I learned a tremendous amount, but also spent quite a bit of money. Certainly more than just buying a kit off the shelf.
Do a home-built turbo kit for the fun and experience. Do not do it for the cost savings, because ultimately you will not save anything. Definitely do NOT try a home-built turbo kit on your only car.

·
w/ my magic bag
29,468 Posts
I have, and it's all documented in this forum.
That being said, it has been a never-ending hobby of tweaking and fixing. I learned a tremendous amount, but also spent quite a bit of money. Certainly more than just buying a kit off the shelf.