Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all
I would like to say that i have read several threads but i have no idea what your all referring too!! if possible i would very much so like a pointer as its the knackers yard else

My car is about to be sold as we are getting a new car at the end of next month (mobility car) but would prefer someone to enjoy my car rather then scrap it

Ive had it checked by numerous mechanics,had it plugged in to check the electrics and nothing,this is my last resort

Basically there are two issues:
1) when im driving,generally pulling away whilst the car does not die i lose power along with my speedo,i then have to move from 2nd to 3rd back to 2nd till the speedo and power come back and god help who evers in front of me!

2)when i gather speed there is a noise very similar to a dynamo coming from the rear of the car,drivers side.

shes recently had new piston things(sorry im not technical) head cam thing flattened,new sparks.....im sorry i dont know the technical terms[???:)]

hoping you can help

julie

·
Registered
66 Posts
Hi Julie, here are my guesses.

1. your instrument cluster has a loose or broken pin where it plugs in, shutting down the gauges. The cluster has to be removed and many times the green power wire wasnt seated properly from the factory, or has broken due to fatigue.

2. the whirling noise in the rear of the car is one of two things, either a wheel bearing or a majorly cupped tire do to, poor alignment of the rear tires, broken spring or worn out shocks which these cars are noted for,

Hope this helps FRED

·
Registered
4,475 Posts
I just sold my old car after i bought a brand new Focus.
I had my old car for 12 years an liked it very much. But it too had 'issues'.
I knew the car was a good car, but the dealer woud only give me scrap value for it.