Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI guys im new to the forums but i'll be around for awhile.
I have a 03 ford focus se manual 130k miles, I bought used for cheap. It has problems but this one I need to resolve quickly I managed to get to work, but looks like i'll be stuck here.

The ignition keeps locking up, I cant turn the key over at all.
The last time I got stuck was in a mcdonalds parking lot then I managed to get it to turn during extreme frustration.

As soon as I got into my my parking spot for work I took very close attention to when I was taking the key out and how the keyhole was placed for position to turn over. The metal keyhole, when your placing the key in pushes in with the key, in order for the car to start it the metal circle disengages out which makes it in the right position to turn the ignition. Mine isn't disengaging so it's keeping it in the locked position. Im not an expert, but this is what I've observed and i've explained to the best of my ability.

Maybe I should use wb-40? I really have no idea.

Anyone else have this problem? I dont really want to go out and buy a whole new key ignition when this one maybe be still good.

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
Moved to General Tech. Chat.

·
Registered
1,477 Posts
Put the key in and hit it really hard with the palm of your hand.

·
Registered
1,073 Posts
Ford has a replacement ignition switch where there are tumblers to set to your original key
The ignition switch that has an offset keyway WILL fail. The newer one is centered
THERE IS NOTHING YOU CAN DO WITH THE OLD SWITCH
Replacement is easy if the cylinder can be turned

·
Registered
102 Posts
I took apart the shifting (mine was automatic) column and ripped the spring out and glued that button down. no problem for 7 years with that at least.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #7