Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I'm a complete beginner when it comes to cars and have run into a bit of a problem.
Battery light was coming on and off, and the last time it came on it started to smell like rotten eggs. Turned the car off and popped the hood and the battery was steaming (not from the posts, from the actual battery). Now car won't start and just keeps clicking. The battery was bought in April brand new. So got towed home, took out the battery and the cables were a little melted/messed up.
Need help identifying the cable (as in the name and possibly part number) and if anyone has an idea of what I should be replacing and fixing I would appreciate any help I can get! Thanks
*the pic is pointing to what I need help identifying.

·
Registered
2004 Focus Wagon, Zetec DOHC, Auto
1,590 Posts
Welcome to FF.

You will need a battery cable set. They are usually about $80 - $100.

What is your engine, transmission, and model?

BTW: It would help with future posts if you put that info in your profile.

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
^^ Yup.

That's the ground cable pictured, and you'll need to check/repair the charging system as needed once you've got good cables.

The cooked battery is from over charging (prob. 15 volts or more). A bad ground can be a cause, but there are other possibilities. You don't want to cook another battery besides paying for whatever repairs are needed so don't run it long to test once you've got a good cable hookup.

·
Registered
17,173 Posts
Sounds more like a total battery melt down to me, an internal short. I would not be bringing that battery back online at all without a loadtest on it for sure, could easily toast the rest of the electrics in the car or worse, like burn car to the ground.